SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
    Awards: Philip K. Dick  
  This award, sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society, is given since 1983 "to a distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time during the award year in the U.S.A.". That means they rarely elect fantasy works, while short stories or anthologies are eligible.

There is an official page (a bit out of date last time we checked) if you wish to know the official rules.

Year Writer Book Series
1982 Rudy Rucker Software Y
1983 Tim Powers The Anubis Gates  
1984 William Gibson Neuromancer  
1985 Tim Powers Dinner at Deviant's Palace  
1986 James P. Blaylock Homunculus  
1987 Patricia Geary Strange Toys  
1988 Paul J. Mc Auley
Rudy Rucker (tie)
Four Hundred Billion Stars

1989 Richard Paul Russo Subterranean Gallery Y
1990 Pat Murphy Points of Departure  
1991 Ian McDonald King of Morning, Queen of Day  
1992 Richard Grant
Holly Lisle  (tie)
Through the Heart
Fire in the Mist

1993 John M. Ford
Jack Womack (tie)
Growing Up Weightless
1994 Robert Charles Wilson Mysterium  
1995 Bruce Bethke Headcrash  
1996 Stephen Baxter The Time Ships  
1997 Stepan Chapman The Troika  
1998 Geoff Ryman 253 : The Print Remix  
1999 Stephen Baxter Vacuum Diagrams  
2000 Michael Marshall Smith Only Forward  
2001 Richard Paul Russo Ship of Fools  

  • Science Fiction and Fantasy Awards
  • Hugo and Nebula
  • Aurora
  • John W. Campbell
  • Philip K. Dick
  • Skylark
  • James Tiptree
  • World Fantasy
  • Mythopoeic
  • Most Awarded Authors
  • Most Awarded Novels
    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved