SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Mississippi Blues, by Kathleen Ann Goonan  
  Novel, first publication in June 1997 , latest edition in June 1999
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

      Buy it online  

    Get most new and used editions at, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio

    Buy Mississippi Blues by Kathleen Ann Goonan
       Additional Information  
      Mississippi Blues is a uniquely twisted vision of a postapocalyptic future in which nanotechnology is just the most recent rung humanity has climbed in its techno-evolution. Goonan's story features a wild ride down the Mississippi to "Norleans," propelled by a nanoplague that may or may not be humanity's saving grace. Our heroine Verity rescues a motley group from metapheromonal slavery in Cincinnati, and they set off on boats and rafts to an uncertain utopia at the end of the river. On the way, they encounter everything from whirlpools to religious zealots to a terrifying little town that would be best described as the bastard child of Las Vegas and Westworld. It's a swirling, existentialist voyage with a meandering soul; weak in structure but strong in concept, with an ending that smacks of sequels to come.

    Source: Jhana Bach,

      Part of series  
  • Nanotech Cycle - Verity (#2)

      Related theme(s)  
  • After the Apocalypse - Post-holocaust - Apocalypse
  • Cyberpunk - Cyberspace
  • Nanotechnology
  • Plague - Disease - Epidemic - Virus
  • Politics - Utopias and Dystopias
  • Religion - Theology - Gods & Deities - Faith - Priests & Clerics
  • Robots - Androids - Cyborgs
  • Slavery - Slaves - Servitude

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved