SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Forbidden Forest: The Story of Little John and Robin Hood, by Michael Cadnum  
  Novel, first publication in May 2002
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

      Buy it online  

    Get most new and used editions at, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio

    Buy Forbidden Forest: The Story of Little John and Robin Hood by Michael Cadnum
       Additional Information  
      Robin Hood's sidekick Little John has always been one of the most intriguing characters in the legend--a big, goodhearted fellow whose nickname was Robin's joke after John earned a place in the outlaw band with that famous quarterstaff duel on the bridge. In this book Michael Cadnum returns to Sherwood Forest, the setting of his award-winning In a Dark Wood to imagine how Little John comes to be on the run from the cruel Red Roger, and how he gains the respect of Robin's men with his doughty courage and his way with a story round the campfire. Cadnum realistically and authentically tells the tale of Margaret Lea, a wealthy merchant's daughter who is betrothed to the despicable Sir Gilbert. She struggles to do her duty by marrying him, and on her wedding night finds her new husband stabbed to death on the doorstep. When the sheriff's man Hugh accuses her of the murder, she flees to the forest, where Little John and the outlaw band take up her cause in a rousing and suitably violent adventure with just a tinge of romance.
    (Ages 12 and older)

    Source: Patty Campbell,

      Related theme(s)  
  • Mythology - Myths - Legends - Fairy Tales - Folklore
  • Young Adult (YA) - books for teens

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved