SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Omega Expedition, The, by Brian M. Stableford  
  Novel, first publication in July 2002 , latest edition in July 2003
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

      Buy it online  

    Get most new and used editions at, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio

    Buy Omega Expedition, The by Brian M. Stableford
       Additional Information  
      Madoc Tamlin is a man with an unusual problem. He wakes to find himself a thousand years in the future, in a space station on the far side of the sun. Or so he is told by the mysterious, sexless human who greets him. Madoc assures himself that he's still in his own time, trapped in advanced virtual reality by one of his foes, because if he isn't, he has no idea why he was cryogenically frozen--which would mean that he was a dangerous criminal. And he doesn't remember that either! Plus, the notorious serial killer Christine Caine has been defrosted to join him, and they, along with their strange rescuer, have just been captured in an impossible space battle by an unknown enemy.

    The Omega Expedition is the sixth and concluding volume of Brian Stableford's grand future history, which explores the possibilities and perils of emortality (near-immortality). This is one of the most thoughtful, complex, and ambitious series ever produced in science fiction, and its final novel, a standalone work, masterfully orchestrates the numerous characters, themes, plot lines, and ideas to a bold conclusion. But newcomers to the series really shouldn't start with The Omega Expedition. Read the novels of this future history in the author's intended order, detailed in his informative introduction to The Omega Expedition. Start with The Cassandra Complex.

    Source: Cynthia Ward,

      Part of series  
  • Emortals (#6)

      Related theme(s)  
  • Artificial Reality - Virtual Reality
  • Far Futures
  • Longevity
  • Time Travel - Time Control - Time Warp

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved