SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Lord of the Fantastic: Stories in Honor of Roger Zelazny, by Martin H. Greenberg  
  Anthology, first publication in October 1999
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

      Buy it online  

    Get most new and used editions at, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio

    Buy Lord of the Fantastic: Stories in Honor of Roger Zelazny by Martin H. Greenberg
       Additional Information  
      Roger Zelazny (1937-1995) was a magnificently inventive fantasy writer. He wrote about time, imagination, morality, philosophy, religion, politics, and storytelling. Many of his best books are out of print at present (though the Amber series is being reissued by Avon), but Lord of the Fantastic is a worthy tribute to his multifaceted genius.

    Greenberg, a legendary editor of fantasy anthologies, has collected 22 short stories from some of the best writers working today. Walter Jon Williams writes an achingly sad tale of love, loss, and memory; Robert Silverberg a funny tale of what happens when mythic godslayers outlive their opponents. Gregory Benford mixes space opera with astrophysics in a frenetic chase across the galaxy; Steven Brust's lone gambler goes up against an alien in a very high-stakes card game. And Jack Haldeman tells of a trouble-making fairy who's enjoying exile running a bait and beer shop somewhere south of the Mason-Dixon Line.

    Most authors include a reminiscence of Zelazny in a brief afterword; the introduction and final piece are stories about Roger from two collaborators, Fred Saberhagen and Gerald Hausman. This collection of well-written, thought-provoking tales will inspire old and new fans to read and reread his works. --

    Source: Nona Vero,

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved