SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Scroll of Thoth: Tales of Simon Magus & the Great Old Ones, by Richard L. Tierney  
  Collection, first publication in December 1997
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

      Buy it online  

    Get most new and used editions at, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio

    Buy Scroll of Thoth: Tales of Simon Magus & the Great Old Ones by Richard L. Tierney
       Additional Information  
      Richard Tierney is known for his weird poetry, his heroic fantasy in the tradition of Robert E. Howard, and a critical essay in which he emphasizes the role of August Derleth in elaborating the Cthulhu Mythos. He has a sophisticated take on how to write fiction based on the H. P. Lovecraft Mythos, tapping into Lovecraft's Gnostic tendencies as well as his cosmic nihilism. The 12 tales in this collection feature Simon Magus, the famous heretic and Gnostic from the early days of Christianity. Magus meets up with Shub-Niggurath (the evil goddess), searches for the Ring of Set, and has several other dark adventures. Tierney is a fine writer with a special gift for evocative descriptions of place, and he puts more effort into characterization than is typical for modern Mythos stories. Robert Price, as editor, provides a plenitude of background materials. In his inimitably witty way, Price compares Tierney to other Lovecraftian writers and places his fiction in a rich historical, religious, and mythological context.

    Source: Fiona Webster,

      Related theme(s)  
  • Horror - Terror
  • Religion - Theology - Gods & Deities - Faith - Priests & Clerics

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved