SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Second Chance at Eden, A, by Peter F. Hamilton  
  Collection, first publication in January 1997 , latest edition in January 1999
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

      Buy it online  

    Get most new and used editions at, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio

    Buy Second Chance at Eden, A by Peter F. Hamilton
       Additional Information  
      This is a superb collection of stories from Peter Hamilton, set in the same universe as his excellent, bestselling epics Reality Dysfunction (Emergence and Expansion) and The Neutronium Alchemist (Consolidation and Conflict). It's hard to pick favorites here, because every one of the stories is superbly plotted, exciting, and full of fresh ideas. The novella "A Second Chance at Eden" is a classic detective story with unpredictable twists and turns. "Escape Route," which also appeared in The Year's Best Science Fiction, marks the reappearance of the starship Lady Macbeth and her crew, who must figure out a xenoc relic before they run afoul of some heavies. Hamilton favorites like bitek, affinity genes, xenocs, and Edenists are threaded throughout the collection, weaving detail into the epic tapestry of his universe. A Second Chance at Eden is perfect for Hamilton aficionados and novices alike.

    Source: Therese Littleton,

    For new readers of Peter Hamilton, A Second Chance at Eden is a great introduction into the universe of The Reality Dysfunction. For previous readers of The Reality Dysfunction and The Neutronium Alchemist, these stories will keep them happy and eager as they await the final volume of the trilogy, The Naked God. A Second Chance at Eden contains seven stories chronicling the history of the Confederation leading up to the time of Joshua Calvert and Quinn Dexter. They include an explanation in "Escape Route" of why the ship The Lady MacBeth was so beaten up when first seen in The Reality Dysfunction, and further exploration into the affinity technology and its potential in "Sonnie's Edge." Bestselling writer Peter F. Hamilton covers a lot of ground, from challenging his readers with the whodunit novella "A Second Chance at Eden" to the thoughtful, speculative fiction in "The Lives and Loves of Tiarella Rose."

      Part of series  
  • Night's Dawn - Confederation

      Related theme(s)  
  • Alien Machines - Alien Artifacts
  • Aliens - Extra-terrestrials
  • Genetic Engineering/manipulation - Bio-engineering
  • Nanotechnology
  • Politics - Utopias and Dystopias
  • Religion - Theology - Gods & Deities - Faith - Priests & Clerics
  • Space Opera - Space Epics - Space Romances
  • Telepathy - Mind Reading - ESP - Psionics - Psychic

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved