SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   DNA Cowboys Trilogy, The, by Mick Farren  
  Omnibus, first publication in April 2003
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

      Buy it online  

    Get most new and used editions at, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio

    Buy DNA Cowboys Trilogy, The by Mick Farren
       Additional Information  
      Out of print for almost thirty years, the original DNA cowboy novels, published only in the UK, have been eagerly sought out by collectors and fans. The three novels that make up The DNA Cowboys Trilogy—The Quest of the DNA Cowboys, Synaptic Manhunt, and The Neural Atrocity—are now available in this single volume edition, with a new Introduction by the author. Written practically non-stop in 1975 and 1976 these books offer fantastic adventures into the unknown and unexpected. With influences that range from Star Trek to Kung Fu, from Hesse's The Glass Bead Game to A Clockwork Orange, from the Marquis de Sade to Sam Peckinpah, here is a bizarre universe populated with pre-teen dictators, huge twin-brained domestic lizards, and growing bio-computers tended by monks who practice martial arts. Farren let his imagination run wild and the results are awesome: fanciful weapons, medieval jails, public hangings, Albert Speer architecture, gunfights, stiletto heels and femmes fatales in tight clothing, orgies, orgasms, and undefined monsters called Disruptors that suck up all life and logic. Striding out of Pleasant Gap come a trio of drifters, Billy Oblivion, Reave Mekonta, and The Minstrel Boy, the DNA Cowboys, reproduction pistols in hand. They hit the trail through the molecular dissolution of the Nothings, teetering on the edge of non-existence, to Graveyard and beyond. Join them in their encounters with Brother Jeb Stuart Ho, the Sex-O-Mats and Torture Parlors, Stuff Central, and A.A. Catto, the sadistic child-woman ruler of Quahal.

      Related theme(s)  
  • Genetic Engineering/manipulation - Bio-engineering

    © 1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved