SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
   
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
 
   Falsely Accused, by Robert K. Tanenbaum  
 
  Novel, first publication in 1996
 
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

  •  
     
      Buy it online  
     


    Get most new and used editions at Amazon.com, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio


    Buy Falsely Accused by Robert K. Tanenbaum
     
     
       Additional Information  
     
      The dynamic crime-solving duo of Butch Karp and his feisty wife, Marlene Ciampi, is back, and this time they have an extra set of brains: their 7-year-old daughter, Lucy. Falsely Accused is Robert K. Tanenbaum's eighth book in this ongoing series featuring Butch and Marlene as they uncover big-city misdeeds, sleaze, and corruption. In this edge-of-the-seat thriller, Butch is working as a litigator for a New York law firm, defending a bigwig client named Murray Selig, who was recently fired as chief medical examiner. The circumstances surrounding Selig's dismissal are questionable to say the least, and very soon a veritable hot pot of political wrongdoings is exposed. Meanwhile, Marlene is busy burning the candle at both ends--she's a full-time mom to the precocious Lucy, and she also heads a detective agency specializing in the protection of battered women--here she encounters more troubles. Tanenbaum brilliantly blends together several subplots and mininarratives--what is the secret of the two refugee children? What are the mayor and D.A. hiding? What is the story behind the deaths of several New York cabbies? Tanenbaum convincingly (and amazingly) pulls together these separate plots into a gripping conclusion.
    Falsely Accused is more than just a suspenseful thriller--it is a fascinating exploration of legal and courtroom procedures, recounted in scrupulous detail. Fans of Butch and Marlene (and Lucy!) will not be disappointed.

    Source: Amazon.com.

    Butch Karp is not working for the City of New York anymore. Instead he's fighting City Hall. New York's chief medical examiner, Murray Selig, has been summarily fired without due cause, and Butch Karp, now in private practice, is suing the city for all this case of administrative malfeasance is worth. His wife, Marlene Ciampi, is out of law enforcement as well. But she is doing more than keeping house and raising their young daughter. With street-savvy ex-cop Harry Bello, she has opened a private detective agency specializing in protecting threatened women from abusive men. Their career paths seem miles apart. But questions arise that bring them ever closer together. What is the secret that two terrified children from Central America refuse to divulge? Why have murders of Guatemalan cab drivers by bent cops remained uninvestigated? Who is responsible for the brutal beating of Marlene's close friend, freewheeling investigative reporter Ariadne Stupenagel, when she comes too close to exposing dirty secrets of the NYPD?

     
     
      Part of series  
     
     
  • Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi (#8)

  •  
     
      Related theme(s)  
     
     
  • 20th Century
  • Cops - Sheriff
  • Detectives - Sleuths - Pis - Bounty Hunter
  • Murders
  • New York City
  • Thrillers
  • U.S.A.
  • Women Sleuths

  •  
    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved