SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Civil Blood, by Ann McMillan  
  Novel, first publication in June 2001
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

      Buy it online  

    Get most new and used editions at, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio

    Buy Civil Blood by Ann McMillan
       Additional Information  
      This is a book you'll have trouble putting down," said the Richmond Times-Dispatch of Ann McMillan's Dead March, the opening installment in a series that blends vivid suspense, elegant period detail, richly developed characters, and the political and cultural tensions of its time. Set against the backdrop of 1860s Richmond, Virginia, the adventures of Narcissa Powers, a well-to-do young widow-turned-war nurse, and Judah Daniel, a freed slave and herbalist, are compelling reading for Civil War buffs and lovers of historical fiction. Civil Blood, the third book, opens in the spring of 1862 as the war escalates and troops move in for battle. But in Richmond, an even greater threat looms: smallpox. As Narcissa, Judah, and their friend, the British journalist Brit Wallace, soon suspect, this is more than microbial contagion. It is a deadly crime, a plague intentionally planted on "tainted" money, and they must race to halt a killer more lethal than the cannons on the blood-soaked fields of combat.

      Part of series  
  • Civil War (#3)

      Related theme(s)  
  • 19th Century
  • Detectives - Sleuths - Pis - Bounty Hunter
  • Journalists
  • Murders
  • Mystery
  • Priests- Shamans - Druids
  • Secession War
  • Slavery - Slaves - Servitude
  • Virginia
  • Women Sleuths

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved