SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Fadeout, by Joseph Hansen  
  Novel, first publication in 1970
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

      Buy it online  

    Get most new and used editions at, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio

    Buy Fadeout by Joseph Hansen
       Additional Information  
      Joseph Hansen's Dave Brandstetter series of detective novels spanned 21 years and 12 books, earning him the 1992 Lifetime Achievment Award from the Private Eye Writers of America. Fadeout, the first of his novels, published in 1970, introduces the character of Dave Brandstetter, a hard-boiled insurance investigator, who doesn't believe that a folksinger whose car was found smashed in an arroyo is really dead. What makes the Brandstetter series even more remarkable-apart from the exceptional writing, which earned Hansen comparisons to Dashiell Hammett, Ross Macdonald, and Raymond Chandler-is that Dave Brandstetter was openly, comfortably, and thoroughly unstereotypically gay. In 1999 this is notable; in 1970 it was extraordinary. Alyson is pleased to reintroduce this landmark, groundbreaking series, long out of print, to a new audience.

      Part of series  
  • Dave Brandstetter (#1)

      Related theme(s)  
  • 20th Century
  • California
  • Detectives - Sleuths - Pis - Bounty Hunter
  • Hard-Boiled
  • Homosexuality
  • Murders
  • Mystery
  • U.S.A.

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved