SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   More Deceived, The, by David Roberts  
  Novel, first publication in 2004
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

      Buy it online  

    Get most new and used editions at, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio

    Buy More Deceived, The by David Roberts
       Additional Information  
      It is 1937; Winston Churchill is receiving unauthorized information on Britain’s rearmament program, and Lord Edward Corinth is brought in by the Foreign Office to investigate the leaks. Edward rapidly falls under Churchill’s spell and quickly abandons his investigation to concentrate instead on finding the murderer of a Foreign Office official who may have been one of Churchill’s sources. He soon finds himself trying to untangle a web of deception that threatens the security of the state. There is a second murder within the Foreign Office, and Edward sets out for Spain to find the murdered man’s son, though his real objective is to satisfy the gnawing fear that his friend Verity Browne, also in Spain, is in extreme peril. Verity is reporting on the Civil War for the New Gazette, and she senses a scoop when she is given secret information that the enemy is planning an attack on the undefended town of Guernica. With Edward in tow she arrives just in time to witness a barbarous aerial bombardment on a civilian population with no means of defending itself. However, a near-certain death awaits Edward in England, where nothing—including the woman he loves—is what it appears to be.

      Part of series  
  • Lord Edward Corinth and Verity Browne (#5)

      Related theme(s)  
  • 20th Century
  • Murders
  • Mystery
  • Spain
  • Spies - Special Agents

    © 1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved