SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Portal, The, by Murphy Sharon Yates  
  Novel, first publication in November 2007
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

      Buy it online  

    Get most new and used editions at, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio

    Buy Portal, The by Murphy Sharon Yates
       Additional Information  
      Unhappy with her present life, Lizzy, a beautiful young woman, discovers a portal that leads to another place and time far different from her twentieth century world. The more she explores the other side, the more she realizes that this is the place of her dreams-with one exception; there is finality in passing through the small tear in the dimension of time: A very high price. In a wonderful place where time dissolves the present state of twentieth century chaos she leaves behind her each day, Lizzy discovers that not everything is as it seems in the world beyond.

    Her future brother-in-law Brad watches suspiciously from afar. He discovers that his ancestors-who are still amazingly alive-are living within the portal. Brad deviously plans his own future by entering into the past, robbing a bank and exploiting his ancestors, as well as the town's people.

    The family photo of Granny's grandparents, hanging on her bedroom wall, tells a secret tale that Granny hints at to Lizzy, but doesn't reveal the family secret until the end. Then Lizzy must make a decision she once thought might be easy.

      Part of series  
  • Timeafter Time (#1)

      Related theme(s)  
  • 20th Century
  • Parallel Universes - Alternate Worlds - Other Dimensions - Alternate Reality

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved