SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
   
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
 
   Xenophobia, by Nathanael Rafferty  
 
  Novel, first publication in August 2008
 
  New to SciFan?
SciFan is dedicated to helping you discover new fantasy and SF books:
  • our database of 40,000+ books is cross-referenced by author, series and theme and is updated almost daily
  • we cover new and forthcoming books like no one else [more about us.]

  •  
     
      Buy it online  
     


    Get most new and used editions at Amazon.com, Amazon Canada , Amazon UK or Powells

    Look for second-hand books at Biblio


    Buy Xenophobia by Nathanael Rafferty
     
     
       Additional Information  
     
      The "Zukunftsangst Series" is a set of Science-Fiction novels in the tradition of "Island of Dr. Moreau", "Andromeda Strain" "Jurassic Park" or films such as "Blade Runner" and "Gattaca", i.e. they are more Science-Fact than Science-Fiction. Zukunftsangst is a German Cold-War term meaning "Fear-of-the-Future", which may best embody current paranoia of what the future may hold in store for humanity. The Zukunstangst Series is set in the near future, in a world devastated by man's activities, wherein global warming and biological pollutants, have lead to a calamity termed GC, the great calamity in which about 80% of all life perished. Those that remained were not very fortunate, as life was rendered sterile. In the opening novel, Xenophobia, the lead character Gerald Norton at an Oxbridge Institute fights a race against time to restore life to its former fertility. As extreme times call for desperate measures, he transplants human gonadal tissues into porcine hosts in an attempt to restore human life. In the opening chapters his effort is rewarded with the birth of 7 human babies. The other protagonist is Daniel, an environmental biologist, who following the destruction of all he loved and cherished, has retreated into a monastery, shunning all contact with human life, and in a very disillusioned state is trying to follow in the footsteps of St. Francis of Assisi. Due to a series of incidents and accidents, largely triggered by the investigation of a pair of overtly inquisitive reporters, the idyll of life restored to its former glory is dashed. Gerald is branded as a modern Frankenstein and a hapless Daniel inherits the fruits of his labours.

     
     
      Part of series  
     
     
  • Zukunftsangst (#1)

  •  
     
      Related theme(s)  
     
     
  • After the Apocalypse - Post-holocaust - Apocalypse

  •  
    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved