SciFan: books and links for the science fiction fan

  search by writer, book or series:
 writers & series: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
home | about | links | e-mail 
   Writers: Jeffrey Marks (1960 - , United States)  
  About the author  

Jeffrey Marks was born in Georgetown, Ohio, the boyhood home of Ulysses S. Grant. Although he moved with his family at an early age, the family frequently told stories about Grant and the people of the small farming community.

At the age of twelve, he was introduced to the works of Agatha Christie via her short story collection, The Underdog and Other Stories. He finished all her books by the age of sixteen and had begun to collect mystery first editions.

After stints on the high school and college newspapers, he began to freelance. After numerous author profiles, he chose to chronicle the short but full life of mystery writer Craig Rice.

That biography (which comes out in the US in April 2001 as Who Was That Lady?) encouraged him to write mystery fiction.

His work has won a number of awards including the Barnes and Noble Prize and he was nominated for a Maxwell award. Today, he writes from his home in Cincinnati, which he shares with his dog.


 Get pricing and availability through our links to online stores, or click on a title to get more information and buying options.

  1998.  Canine Crimes   (Amazon - Alibris)
1999.  Canine Christmas   (Amazon - Alibris)
2000.  Magnolias and Mayhem   (Amazon - Alibris)
2001.  Ambush of My Name, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
2001.  Who Was That Lady?: Craig Rice: The Queen of Screwball Mystery   (Amazon - Alibris)

2002.  Intent to Sell: Marketing the Genre Novel   (Amazon - Alibris)
2003.  Good Soldier, A   (Amazon - Alibris)
2003.  Women Mystery Writers of the 1940s and 1950s   (Amazon - Alibris)
2004.  Criminal Appetites   (Amazon - Alibris)
2004.  Derby Rotten Scoundrels   (Amazon - Alibris)
2004.  Scent of Murder, The   (Amazon - Alibris)
  • Crime Through Time
  • Ulysses S. Grant
      Recurring themes  

  • Mystery (11 books)
  • Murders (7 books)
  • U.S.A. (4 books)
  • Officers - Soldiers (2 books)
  • 19th Century (2 books)
      Internet links  
  • Official website
  • (Wayback Machine - Google cache) 

    If you know a good site about this author, please let us know, we'll consider adding it here.

    If a link doesn't work, please tell us so. Meanwhile try our links to Google or the Wayback Machine, they might have kept archived copies.

    1998-2010 Olivier Travers & Sophie Bellais - All Rights Reserved